.

OPINION: More Superfluous Spending at the Lacey Board of Ed

If anyone was curious, the price tag for the all the clothing allowance checks issued by the Lacey Board of Education (mentioned in my previous speak out letter Feb. 3) amounts to about $60,000 annually.

Someone needs to negotiate its removal from the LTEA contract. I obtained the dollar amount by making an OPRA request for this expense. This money belongs in the classroom for teaching supplies, textbooks, etc. Student achievement must be a higher priority.

There are additional superfluous items lurking in the Lacey School Budget.

The Lacey taxpayers are footing the bill for ALL professional association dues for administration/management personnel. I think anyone making over $80K per year, can well afford to pay their own professional association dues. Should the taxpayers be footing the bills for: The New Jersey Association of School Administrators and the New Jersey Principals and Supervisors Association?

Even the superintendent’s contract, at a salary of $167,500 per year, includes a clause to pay her professional association dues as well! I was surprised to see she didn’t get a wardrobe allowance too. (The contract is posted on the Lacey Schools website.)

This is another superfluous expense that MUST GO.

I also found a bill for another overnight stay in Atlantic City for Board members and an administrator. Gas is cheaper - please car pool and come home. Many people commute to Atlantic City from Lacey. I don’t care what time these workshops begin or end.

Have a cup of coffee and come home. Otherwise pay for the overnight with your own money. The taxpayers should not be paying for any overnight stays in Atlantic City. It’s too close!! (The bill was $1400.)

Lacey, contrary to popular belief, is not an affluent township. Many Lacey families have both parents working and people are struggling to pay their taxes and keep their homes. Has anyone else noticed all the foreclosures in town and numerous empty homes? There’s dozens of them.

I think it’s time for the Board of Education to focus 100 percent towards student achievement. Please get rid of the fluff in the LTEA contract. There is one year left until the next contract negotiation.

Thank you to all who read this. Please consider coming to meetings. Nothing will change unless more people come forward.

Respectfully submitted,

Regina Discenza, Lacey (609) 693-6454

 

 

AB February 25, 2014 at 04:52 PM
Common sense runs low in the School system. I rather have the mafia run the system
Leo February 25, 2014 at 06:24 PM
It is run by the Mob. The Ocean County Republican Party. Who are "suppose" to be in favor of smaller Govt but are NOT Nepotism at its finest!
John Doe February 25, 2014 at 07:06 PM
Does anyone remember the days when each school had a principal who ran the entire operation without minions, assistants, department heads, curriculum heads, directors of this and that? They had ONE school secretary to assist and somehow managed to do a darn good job of educating the students, too. If you want to cut the budget, start cutting all these extra "supervisory" salaries and doing away with all these fluff positions. Have the principals actually do the work for which they are hired. Leave the teaching to the teachers, pay them a fair wage and show them a little support instead of proving how short the distance is from the apple to the tree.
Joey Joe February 25, 2014 at 07:40 PM
Regina - GREAT JOB!!! Please advise when the next meeting is... I don't have kids in school anymore but I do pay taxes here in lacey and it makes me see red the money that is being stolen and wasted... WHO THE HELL ARE THEY???
mb February 25, 2014 at 08:05 PM
Bob Smith- "How many of our citizens are one paycheck from being out on the street and they can not continue to pay these outrageous taxes." Outrageous taxes? Are you kidding? We have the lowest taxes in the county. I have family that lives up north - my brother lives in a house half the size and pays 3 times as much. Get real. And regina- what were your taxes in nyc? they must have been pretty low. I have an aunt that lives on Amsterdamn and her building maintenance fees are more than my mortgage. Hey regina.......get real
Amy February 25, 2014 at 08:21 PM
John Doe, 100% agree..we do NOT need all of these made up extra 'little helper' jobs..but now that they're there, they're probably not going away..funny how they are the highest paid positions too. Thanks, I loved your comments!!
Silver dollar February 25, 2014 at 10:10 PM
Joey Joe School board meetings are the third Monday of every month Next meeting March 17 7:30 pm.
ken February 25, 2014 at 11:34 PM
yes John Doe. Their names were Mr Elliot and Mr Paladino. And if you got in big trouble, Mr Elliot would take you home himself in that volkswagon van of his to talk to your mother.
ken February 25, 2014 at 11:39 PM
and Mrs Evans would take the class to Mary's Dairy if they were good, Mrs Rolloff gave candy for good grades and behavior. and nobody got their panties in a knot over these kinds of things.
GB Shore February 26, 2014 at 07:06 AM
Typical commentary from the peanut gallery. Leo uses typical BS lib tactics....instead of answering and addressing what Regina is posting, they try to change the discussion and deflect and the point he brings up has nothing to do with paying association fees and uniform stipends. I did not see in her post that teachers should not have healthcare. Typical. If you are going to TRY to disagree, please stay on point an be logical instead of the tired, old, sophomoric tactic of deny, deflect and change the subject....well known lib tactic is to attack....sickening
Barbara February 26, 2014 at 07:42 AM
Taxpayers should pay for nothing other than for the students and classrooms. Clothing allowance is the most ridiculous thing I ever heard of!! I worked at a job paying nothing most of my life and paid for my own clothing 100% and also paid my union dues. These people make enough money to supply themselves with what they need to hold their positions. If not, they should look for other employment. Also, the last thing that Lacey needs is another park!
Clementine Snide February 26, 2014 at 07:45 AM
@GB: devil's advocate here... Regina's previous letter of this kind DID attack the healthcare issue. I think some us are still stuck on the notion that it's a little hypocritical to rant about taking away benefits when one has been a recipient of exactly the same system. That's all.
Leo February 26, 2014 at 07:52 AM
George GB Shore, That's because you only see what you want to. You see George, Regina did in fact complain about teachers family plan and yet she is on it thru her husband . NO Attack just the facts, Sir Worrying about uniforms is like throwing a deck chair off the Queen Mary trying to lighten the load. The High School is rated a D Its ranked in the bottom third of the State and SINKING fast ! 71 MILLION for these "results" What is the plan to turn this around? And George, Regina did complain and I asked and she answered because we all know her business. Hypocrisy, YES The solution to medical insurance is a single payer system. Don't believe it? Take a look at what most elderly people receive. MEDICARE YeahI KNOW ITS GOING BROKE Gb Shore , Typical attack on libs by Mr Shore while having no plan or idea of your own. Note to Mr Shore Lacey and Ocean county is run by Republicans. Take a look at the family tree many of whom who are against big government WORK for the GOVERNMENT! Want to make a dent in the 71 million? End HOME RULE! All of Ocean County 1 Super for starters But we all know that wont happen
GB Shore February 26, 2014 at 08:09 AM
@Leo, I've made plenty of suggestions in many areas and forums. Again, you deflect and try to change the subject. It appears that $100k in questionable benefits is no big deal to you. Good for you...there are people who think otherwise. AGAIN, stick to the point at hand and not go off into other directions....THAT is the typical lib tactic...FACT.
Robert Yates February 26, 2014 at 08:17 AM
@Leo: ending home rule and nepotism and calling out hypocritical local pols are all good ideas. A single payer system is a really bad idea. You do not fix something by doing more of the same thing. Our medical system is a disastrous mess and it is a mess because the government got involved in the first place. Remove them from the equation and prices would dramatically fall.
Leo February 26, 2014 at 08:52 AM
I disagree Corp Greed is bad Clementine Snide February 22, 2014 at 08:34 PM @Regina wrote: "No Leo. All the info you want is under the comments on the previous letter. NYC only gave free benefits for HIP Plan-HMO. Once we moved to NJ, we lost that. We have been paying LARGE premiums ever since..." So, it is truth that you received free coverage via your husband's job as a teacher? "substandard free bennies", paraphrasing from the other thread? Is that right? 100 k vs 71 million? is laughable do I think they need uniforms? sure I d rather hear what the game plan is for the D and lousy rankings in the state from the nepotism laced BOE. I must have missed it Mr Shore what are they again? Mr Yates if Medicare is good enough and working for Seniors it should be good enough for everyone else. Sorry Mr Yates I don't agree with you in regard to Corp America Medical insurance.
DND February 26, 2014 at 10:06 AM
I understand some of the points on here, the one I have an issue is the one about the parks... I never said a word or disagreed about the parks when I was paying taxes for 13 years and didnt have children, but now that i have children we go to the park often... the new hebrew park is updated and very nice, if anyone saw the condition of the old play area or the basketball court, and tennis court; it was out dated and the structure and condition was not the safest... All I am saying that when some of you had younger children like myself I am sure you liked the parks. The town DOES keep them clean and a nice family place to take your children... One point though would be nice if they would unlock the bathrooms... Yes we have multiple parks BUT, they are always being used and crowded... Lets be happy we happy a nice family area...
Robert Yates February 26, 2014 at 10:41 AM
@Leo: I do not believe Medicare is good enough for working seniors, nor is it solvent and nor is it constitutional. I don't know what you mean by Corp America med ins. But if you mean that the government can provide medical insurance in a better and more efficient way than the private sector, I would say that you are failing to learn from the lessons of history. Madison said that if men were angels, no government would be necessary. I'll ask Mr. Madison: who exactly does he think makes up government? The answer: the same people who are not angels. Government is not the solution. Free people are. @DND: the parks are indeed nice, but we can not afford nice things in this economic climate. Again, I certainly like the new equipment, but it was not necessary.
your kidding me February 26, 2014 at 10:50 AM
The BOE in lacey is out of control. Why are we paying for their association dues? Clothing allowance's of $60,000.00 please explain why the Lacey tax payer is footing this bill. Then an overnite stay in AC why? $1400.00 spent on that party. Could have used Township transportation or even rented a limo since you feel your above going in a township vehicle would have been alot cheaper. I think Lacey Township should call for an audit of all expences from the BOE.
diane February 26, 2014 at 02:31 PM
Regina, excellent job. You do not get enough credit. I voted for you twice and will do so again if you choose to run. The expenses you describe are outrageous given the economic climate. How dare they squander taxpayers money on this type of waste. People should also consider appealing their property taxes. I have done my own and my neighbors. This town makes a practice of overassessing and therefore collecting more tax revenue. And seniors who make under $70,000. can participate in the state "Senior Freeze" program, which freezes your property tax. All of the information needed for tax appeals (due April 1!) and for the Senior Freeze is on line and it is not difficult to do.
NDK February 26, 2014 at 03:13 PM
Great work Regina! Does anybody have any update on what happened with the 20k computer fraud...that recently occurred...or was that just a rumor My understanding is the BOE purchased several laptops that went to a fake address? All I wanted was or kids an opportunity to have an ice hockey team but clearly with all this waste and robbery that doesn't look promising..
Spooner February 26, 2014 at 06:04 PM
@Robert Yates- to change the subject: did you see the Supreme Court decision handed down yesterday regarding the fourth amendment by Judge Alito. Another nail in the rights of the people... Meanwhile the main stream media is so preoccupied with gay rights, not even making mention of it!
Silver dollar February 26, 2014 at 10:44 PM
NDK, The computer fraud was real. But it went no where. The only one who would of lost would have been the computer co, who would have sent the computers . They called the school to tell them of the fraud in turn the school system notified the police, because some one said they were from the BOE of Lacey Nothing was ever billed or sent to any fake address . Now do you see how everything gets blowned out of wack when people rush to judgment. (PS) The $ 60,000.00 clothing allowance figure is correct I have seen the report saying so. Also the senior freeze is $84.289.00 or less Not the $70,000.00 listed a couple of post above
diane February 27, 2014 at 12:34 AM
Silver dollar the $70,000 limit is correct. It used to be $84,289 but was adjusted to a max of $80,000 for 2011 and $70,000 per year for 2012 and is expected to be the same for 2013. All of this is on the State on NJ Division of Taxation website. Anyone interested should look into it. If you are eligible, it is a great benefit. I do a bit of work with seniors and they miss out on benefits because they think it's too difficult to navigate through the websites. But it's not!
Robert Yates February 27, 2014 at 08:59 AM
@Spooner: Yes I did see that yesterday. I just read a bit of the opinion which I found here: http://www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/13pdf/12-7822_he4l.pdf. The court's jurisprudence on 4th Amendment matters is and has been horrible. Scalia and Thomas actually have very scary opinions on the Amendment and the way they address it directly contradicts the way they generally try to interpret the Constitution. The justices are political hacks when it comes down to it.
NDK February 27, 2014 at 09:26 AM
Thanks silver dollar..
Silver dollar February 27, 2014 at 11:33 AM
Diane I Turned in my PTR2 yesterday, on page 2 it states Was your total 2013 income on line 4 $84,289* or less ? Bottom line reads * Subject to change by state budget . I don't disagree with you but that is what info I had . Thank you for the update
anonymous March 04, 2014 at 06:18 PM
Clothing allowance ???? What do they think they are in the service?? We used to get a clothing allowance for new uniforms and there was abuse but then again our wardrobe was pretty limited. I cannot believe they get this allowance. It must be nice to work for a corrupt BOE. Where do I apply?????? anonymous
grace March 07, 2014 at 05:23 PM
get off the republican thing and stick with the issue.. a clothing allowance...what exactly is this for? uniforms?
grace March 07, 2014 at 05:23 PM
and i agree with @ joey joe saying thanks regina great job...

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something